Dmitri Shostakovich
home  >  works  >  symphonic music  >  symphonies  >  symphony no. 12
DS 1120

Symphony No. 12 in D minor
Opus 112

"The Year 1917", or "The Lenin Symphony"

Symphony for normal full symphony orchestra

1. Revolutionary Petrograd - Moderato - Allegro attacca
2. Razliv - Adagio attacca
3. Aurora - Allegro attacca
4. The Dawn of Humanity - L'istesso tempo

Completed on 22 August 1961 at Moscow
for the 22nd Soviet Communist Party Moscow Convention held in October 1961

Dedicated to
Vladimir Ilyich Ulyanov Lenin

First performance
1 October 1961, Leningrad Philharmonic Bolshoi Hall
by the Leningrad Philharmonic Orchestra under Yevgeni Mravinsky

Reduction for piano four hands by the composer

top of page